Friday, August 16, 2013

Friday Feature - Fernando, Abi, Mutesi, Ovensnel, Edilson, Ronald, & Megan

Hello and welcome to my Friday Feature! The following seven children have been waiting for sponsors for almost a year and today you can become their sponsor! What's more - it's their birthday, so help make this one extra special.

Meet Fernando:
Age: 8
Location: Barrio La Guardia, Honduras
Lives with: mother, two siblings
Parent job/income: factories/$210 per month
Responsibilities: making beds, running errands, cleaning
Enjoys: Soccer, playing with cars, bicycling
Change his story today!


Meet Abi!
Age: 6
Location: Tondano, Indonesia
Lives with: father, mother, two siblings
Parent job/income: day laborers/$111 per month
Responsibilities: running errands
Enjoys: soccer
Change his story today!


Meet Mutesi!
Age: 7
Location: Kigasha, Rwanda (AIDS-affected area)
Lives with: father, mother, four siblings
Parent job/income: day laborers/$25 per month
Responsiblities: carrying water, gathering firewood
Enjoys: jumping rope, playing group games
Change her story today!


Meet Ovensnel!
Age: 7
Location: Deschapelles, Haiti
Lives with: father, mother, three siblings
Parent job/income: market sellers/$53 per month
Responsibilities: carrying water, buying/selling in the market
Enjoys: soccer, playing group games
Change his story today!


Meet Edilson!
Age: 7
Location: San Antonio, Bolivia (area with high risk for child's rights violations)
Lives with: father, mother, two siblings
Parent job/income: day laborers/$150 per month
Responsibilities: running errands
Enjoys: playing with cars
Change his story today!


Meet Ronald!
Age: 8
Location: Poblacion, Phillipines
Lives with: father, three siblings
Parent job/income: substinence farmers/$60 per month
Responsibilities: washing clothes, running errands, cleaning
Enjoys: basketball, playing with cars, telling stories
Change his story today!


Meet Megan!
Age: 6
Location: Toladan, Indonesia
Lives with: grandfather, grandmother, two siblings
Parent job/income: substience farmers/$53 per month
Responsibilities: running errands, cleaning
Enjoys: art
Change her story today!

I hope you are able to end the wait of one of these children and make their birthday with come true! If none of them speak to your heart, I invite you to find one that does. And if you are unable to sponsor a child, please pray for these children and that they are able to find sponsors soon.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Updates :)

Hello! I've been pretty quiet in the blog-world but here are some updates! :)

1. I completed my junior year of college in May after writing many long papers and suffering from I'm-so-ready-to-be-done fever.

2. In May I traveled to Belize - a non-Compassion country - with a group from my school for two weeks. It was a lot of fun! We helped in the schools, so I taught Language Arts lessons to a group of 6th graders and helped out in the classroom. We also had many fun adventures including visiting Mayan ruins, hiking, swimming, cave exploring, and snorkeling (with nurse sharks and sting-rays on one occasion!) I loved seeing all of God's beautiful creations and continuing to let God use me for the cause of children. It was tough going home!

3. This summer I came home and worked for the Boys & Girls Club. I love working there - especially when the kids are behaving :) I love being able to make a difference in the lives of children and know that I am helping set them on a good track for life!

4. When I wasn't working, I was studying for the GRE. I want to get my masters in clinical psychology and in order to get into graduate programs, you have to take the GRE (which is basically a glorified version of the ACT/SAT).

5. I've also been reading books for fun - The Help! Wow what a fantastic book! And studying Portuguese through an app I downloaded on my phone. I'm taking a Portuguese class this semester (can't wait!) but wanted to get a little head start. I hope to go to Brazil again next summer to visit my lady (saving a little every month!) and I would love to have some level of proficiency in the language before I go :)

6. I'm leaving for college again tomorrow - senior year! Crazy how time flies! It should be a busy, rewarding, fun semester. I've taken on some new leadership responsibilities that I'm really looking forward to. I also am looking forward to volunteering at more Compassion events, continuing to share about Compassion, and continuing to update this blog, because the goal is always the same - I want to help change the story for kids living in extreme poverty, and I want you to help me do it :)